There are some who crave fruit, others who like to carve into a meaty steak, but me… I love carbs. Pastas, breads, and grains make me happy.  I know this love affair will turn South (to my hips and butt) one fateful days in the future.  But, for now… I bake. 

Probably because the leaves are turning yellow and red and there is a chill in the mornings, but when I am home now I have an uncompromising urge to turn on the oven.  Today, was just such a day.  I stocked up with 2 loaves of whole wheat bread, 8 whole wheat buns, a double batch of banana pancakes (to save for the next few days), a huge pan of granola, granola bars, and I baked a frozen locally made apple pie to take to my Mom and Gram’s for dinner.  And I cooked up some apple sauce on the stove.

After a friend that came over for some crafting brought over some sticky sweet and wonderful homemade granola bars I knew I had to try to copycat.  So, this recipe is dedicated to Steph 🙂

Crafty Granola Bars 

  • 2 C oats
  • 1/2 C wheat bran
  • 1/2 C chopped cashews
  • 1/2 C chopped slivered (or just sliced) almonds
  • 1/4 C unsweeted coconut
  • 1/4 C dried blueberries
  • 1/4 C dried cherries
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 C honey
  • 1/2 C peanut butter
  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.  Cover a 9 x 9 pan with parchment paper.
  2. Combine oats, bran, nuts, cocount, and dried fruit in a large mixing bowl.  Feel free to use what nuts or dried fruit you have on hand.
  3. In a small saucepan pour in the honey and peanut butter. Warm over low heat and stir until combined
  4. Add honey mixture to oat mixture.  Mix well.
  5. Pour oat mixture into prepared parchment lined baking pan.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes.
  7. Cool 10 minutes and then cut into 16 squares.
  8. Share with friends while chatting and crafting.
Leave a Reply

