Happy Thanksgiving to All!

I am grateful this season for the laughter of my two healthy children.  For warm and caring friends and family that live so nearby.  For the love that is shared between myself and my spouse.  For the bounty of the region we are so fortunate to be surrounded by.  For all that I have and all that I am.

Now, on to the grub…

I must warn you not to continue reading if you are or could be hungry in the near future, because we enjoyed quite the feast this evening and I’m about to describe it to you.

I had not planned on having any company for dinner (but in the end my Mom and Grandma came over to indulge in a Thanksgiving Feast with the boys and I, which was super nice) so I knew I wasn’t gonna roast a turkey, but did want something special with all the fixin’s.  Due to the ridiculous-crazy weekend I went shopping with the boys this morning and found a duck. Perfect.  I did consider (several times through the day) not being able to pull this off and then decided that was not an option. I came home from shopping and got straight to work defrosting the bird and deciding on a menu based on what I had on hand. Here’s what I came up with:  Roast duck with apple dressing, maple-glazed roasted beets, carrot and cabbage slaw, mashed potatoes and gravy, honey whole wheat buns, plus cranberry sauce and pumpkin pie with whipping cream (brought by Mom and Gram).  It’s a darn good thing I did have company as the amount of amazing food would have seemed ridiculous if it all had just been for myself and the boys.

This is what it all looked like:

What can I say? I warned you…

Leave a Reply

