I finally got to open up my new tortilla press tonight. I have been waiting for 2 weeks to find the time to attempt to make tortillas. I had heard that it is rather arduous and time-consuming, so I was a pretty nervous about the whole process. After a really long day and a really long week I definitely considered ordering pizza (just for a split second).  Instead I revved up my resolve (and poured a glass of organic red wine) and said, “we need snacks ’cause dinner is gonna be late.”

I used the whole wheat tortilla recipe from 100 days and they turned out amazing!  And it really wasn’t that arduous or time-consuming I don’t think.  My husband said, “we will never be going back to store-bought tortillas.”

We stuffed them of leftover organic crock-pot chicken, cheese, and freshly made salsa.  WOW!  A dinner to die for! A not just because I had starved everyone. LOL!

2 responses »

  1. Stephanie says:

    Do you think that these would be a good alternative to torillas used to make sandwiches for Mike’s lunch? I was concerned with them drying out. How long do they keep?

    • foodishgirl says:

      These are just like the tortilas you buy, only way tastier of course. I placed leftovers in a ziplock bag in the fridge and they kept perfectly for several days (likely a week). Or these can be frozen as well.

Leave a Reply

