First, Yay! to us for making it an entire month!  I think the first battle is over and we are standing strong.  We have learned lots and I doubt if we will ever “go back to where we came from.”

Next, you may remember the inspiration from the Farmers Market last week was an undeniable desire to make jam with the peaches and raspberries that I procured from our local vendors.  The peaches were on smokin’ sale and the raspberries looked delish, so my idea for Peach Raspberry Ginger jam was born.  However, because the raspberries were so darn good – they were scarfed up before I could think twice.  So, today I went back to the Farmers Market and got two more little baskets of the sweet little morsels (one for eating and one for jam).

Of course I could absolutley not find a recipe for Peach Raspberry Ginger jam, therefore I had to create my own.  I consulted the wise ones in my family (My Mom and Grandma) and it was recommended to start with some kind of basic recipe, so not to completely waste all the fruit (and money).  I started with just a Ginger Peach Jam recipe, dug my jars out of storage, chopped peaches, and ginger, put everything in a pan, when I realized I only had a little big of sugar.

Note to self: always get out ALL of the ingredients before beginning a recipe.  Ugh, how come I have to learn these basic lessons again?!  Luckily for me, my Mom came to help me out of my “jam.” (LOL!)

Jam is one of those things that is closely tied to my family, and our traditions.  I think it is because my Grandma has always made a lot (of the best) jam.  Because of this, it was really important for me to have success with this process.  Happily, it all went off without a hitch.  The taste is very distinct and I love it, almost exactly what I was expecting, which is nice.  It almost has a sweet/sour flavour because of the raspberries and sugar.  The ginger is quite a strong, but blends well with the subdued peach flavour.

As I am typing I can hear that wonderful snapping sound of lids sealing.  Ahhh… jam.

Peach Raspberry Ginger Jam

  • 4.5 C ripe peaches, peeled and cubed
  • 1/4 C crystallized ginger, finely chopped
  • 2 C raspberries
  • 1 box fruit pectin
  • 5 C sugar
  1. Pour peaches, ginger, and raspberries into a pot on low.  Cook 5-10 mins. Stirring to prevent sticking.
  2. Add fruit pectin and place on hot until mixture comes to a rolling boil.  Cook, stirring constantly for 1 minute.
  3. Remove from heat and skim off the foam with a metal spoon.
  4. Pour  1″ of hot water in a shallow pan.  Place hot jars into the shallow pan.  This prevents the bottom from breaking out of the jars when you add the hot jam.
  5. Ladle jam into hot jars, to within 1/8 of an inch.
  6. Wipe rims of jars and threads.  Cover with hot 2 piece lids.
  7. Cover with a towel to keep jars warm and to allow them to cool slowly (again so the jars don’t bust).  Yields 8 half pints.
Leave a Reply

