I didn’t realize how far away from real food we were until I had to field a couple of striking questions from my oldest son.

Shopping at a Nature’s Fare I said enthusiastically, “hey, what about picking up some popcorn?” thinking too myself, popcorn kernels are a whole grain.  My son says, “sure.” So we traipsy off to the bulk food bins where I start emptying some kernels into a bulk bag and he says, “what are those?” Suddenly I think –  OMG! My 7-year old has never seen popcorn kernels! Have we never popped popcorn?  What kind of a parent am I?  I take a deep breath and explain that these tough little yellow nuggets are and away we go.  That was yesterday.

Now, today, after he got home from school, I again said enthusiastically, “hey, let’s make pizza tonight.” My son says, “sure.”  I had found a ridiculously easy pizza dough recipe online that takes no time at all. So I started getting out all the ingredients to make the dough and he looks and says, “that’s not pizza, what are you doing?”  I replied, “we’re gonna make the dough.”  Get this, he says,”what’s dough?”  My world fell down around me.  Seriously? What’s dough?! We have made pizza lots, we very rarely eat bought pizza, but we do always buy the dough or the crust. So I explained the dough was the bready part on the bottom and he was ok with that.

We had a great time measuring and mixing and rolling and topping.  About halfway through, my son very happily remarked, “thanks for showing me how to make pizza, Mom.”  That made my month.  If there is one thing that comes out of all this foodishness I taught my son how to make pizza.

By the time we finished we had made 2 pizza doughs (one for tonights dinner and one to freeze) and 6 pizza crumbs for his lunch this week.  We have never bought frozen pizza pockets, so I told him they were pizza pockets and he’s like, “a pocket, like in your pants? No, I don’t think so.  I’m going to call them pizza crumbs.”  I figured that made sense since it was all the little pieces of dough, sauce and cheese that was left-over from the big pizzas.

The pizza turned out SO well – such a hit!  No leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

Ridiculously Easy Pizza Dough

  • 2 1/4 t yeast
  • 3/4 C very warm water
  • 2 C flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t honey
  • 1/2 t coriander
  • 1/2 t fennel
  • 1/2 t basil
  • 1/2 t black pepper
  • 1 t olive oil
  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Soak yeast in water for 5 mins
  3. In Med. mixing bowl add flour, salt, honey, and spices.
  4. Add yeasty water in mixing bowl
  5. Mix until well blended
  6. Add olive oil just before taking off the mixer
  7. Cover and let rise for 15 mins.
  8. Roll into pizza shape
  9. Brush with a little olive oil
  10. Bake 7-8 mins
  11. Top pizza with toppings
  12. Bake for 8-10 mins.
Leave a Reply

