Fall brings back to school time and, for our family, hunting season.

Today was the first day back to school.  My son was very excited.  Up at 6am, dressed, teeth brushed, bag packed, snack made and whispering (as we are still sleeping) that he is ready and is it time to go?  This was 6:30. School does not start until 8:30. I let him know this fact.  Just a half day today and he said it was great.  He likes his teacher and his class and has many friends from last year in his class and a couple new boys too. He is excited that tomorrow he gets to go for a whole day.  So nice that he is gung-ho.

My husband is an AVID hunter; preparing all year for is hunting trips.  He is a very ethical and legal hunter. He hunts with friends and family and there is always enough meat to go around.  The meat he gets in the fall is prepared and frozen and lasts us all year-long.  I grew up on wild game meat (deer, elk, moose) and I cook it in anything and everything, just like someone would use beef.  I love it that I know where these animals are coming from and what they’ve been eating, so I am very supportive of his past time.

This year it seems as though I have to be more organized for him leaving.  In my quest to be ready for his first trip (he is gone on Friday and leaving for 4 days) I’ve been making my way through every nook and cranny of my home collecting, sorting, putting away, and throwing away stuff.  HUGE progress has been made.  Still much to do though.  I always get a lot done while he is away too.  I suppose it is because I have my own schedule and I can tackle larger multiple-day projects.  This year might not be so productive with both boys in school and daycare and me working full-time. We’ll see.

Because I want hubby to eat well while he is camping I began a cook fest this evening. Made: a double batch of spaghetti sauce with zucchini, homemade canned tomatoes and tons of herbs; a pan of 21 granola bars with raisins, prunes, and walnuts; 2 loaves of zucchini bread, and 2 Quiche, one with bacon, broccoli, Havarti cheese, and tomato and one with bacon, spinach, mushrooms, and Havarti cheese. Half of these will be for the boys and me and half for the hunters.

Flaky Quiche Crust

  • 1 C flour
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1/4 C ice water
  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Mix flour and salt
  3. Beat oil and water
  4. Pour into flour and mix
  5. Press into 9″ pie crust
  6. Fill with Quiche mixture and bake until done (40-50 mins)

I think if I can do a bunch of cooking a couple of times a month and have lots of homemade real food on hand we are going to make out just fine.

So, I guess I know my project for the weekend….

2 responses »

  1. Stephanie says:

    Do you think that this quiche would freeze well? I am looking to stock my freezer for the winter and I absolutely LOVE quiche!!

    Stephanie

  2. Amanda says:

    You bet. You could either freeze just the crust to fill when needed or you could fill it, bake it and freeze it – ready to warm and eat. If I did it that way I would leave it slightly under-cooked, so you don’t over cook it when you reheat in the oven.

Leave a Reply

