Today I am preparing for our first weekly challenge, from 100 Days of Real Food. Our challenge is to eat 2 (or more) servings of fruit and vegetables at every breakfast, lunch, and dinner meals all week. I have printed our challenge, hung it on the fridge and am prepared to initiate said challenge on Monday. I am testing out how easy or difficult this may be for our family by using myself as a guinea pig. So far, so good. Apricot pancakes and an orange for breakfast, tomatoes and cottage cheese and a rice and pineapple teriyaki wrap for lunch, and dinner consisted of veggie pizza corn and a green salad.

I am also so proud that I used up some yellow plums that were starting to turn and made a Yellow Plum Clafoutis. I had no idea what Clafoutis was until I found a recipe from a blog called Crumb.  All I knew was that it sounded easy and I had all necessary ingredients (or something close that I figured would work).  Wikipedia told me that Clafoutis is a baked French dessert in a buttered dish covered with a thick flan-like batter. It is often made with cherries, but works just as well with (nearly) any kind of fruit. Becuase I had plums (that really needed to be used) that’s what I made it with.  I tweaked the recipe a bit (and let me tell you that is SERIOUSLY out of character for me – I’m more like a “follow-the-recipe-exactly-and-measure-everything-to-the-1/4-of-a-teaspoon kind of cook, but obviously I was feeling extremely adventurous and optimistic with my new and exciting real food endeavour).  So it went like this:

Oh-So Adventurous Yellow Plum Clafoutis

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 c milk
  • 1 T Amaretto
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C flour
  • 8 yellow plums
  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Lightly butter an 8×8 baking dish, then dust bottom with 1 tbsp sugar.
  3. Whisk eggs, add milk, Amaretto, vanilla, sugar and four and beat until smooth.
  4. Halve and pit the plums, and place them cut-side down in the baking dish.
  5. Pour in the batter on the plums.
  6. Bake in the centre of the oven for 35-40 minutes.
  7. The batter should be set around the edges and wobbly in the middle.
  8. Let cool, then serve warm with a dusting of icing sugar.

It sunk a little after it came out of the oven.  But, nevertheless, it was very tasty and a great start to our eating more fruit and vegetables.

Leave a Reply

